Aberlour 'the mouth of the babbling brook’ was officially founded in 1879 by James Fleming although this wasn’t the original. The 1st Aberlour was built in 1826 by Peter Weir and James Gordon this one was destroyed in a fire in 1879, and was subsequently rebuilt in the same year. The distillery is located in the very heart of the Speyside within the Scottish Highlands and resides beside a picturesque scenic burn, (stream) which joins up with the River Spey. The distillery was bought in 1975 by Pernod Ricard. Aberlour has 2 wash still and 2 spirit stills with a capacity of 3.8 million litres.
Aberlour is open to visitors.